The Missing Blog Site Search

Where is site-wide search? 

Both Posthaven & Ghost lack site search. (Ghost even lacks active, clickable tags for now.) That really sucks. I think that it's pretty important, especially after years of blog updates. Posthaven's tags are nice, but not quite a substitution. I hope it gets added sometime. 

I'm really impressed with how well Posthaven works with iPhone and iPad, front and back. The theme, while somewhat bland, almost looks better on iPhone than desktop. However, it's the back-end that impresses me. After logging in, you can do everything that can be done on a desktop, including write posts with live-preview rich text and upload images. 

I mention this for two reasons: 

  • Ghost's UI and user experience on iOS is horrible, and the desktop experience is only slightly better. Its only advantage is markdown support and customizable themes. 
  • If Posthaven's creators can make the user experience this nice, a Posthaven search function would probably be super. I really hate using custom Google Search on blogs. It's just... ugly. 
Hopefully they see this and think yes, we need to add search now! 

I really like scheduled posts, too. Another thing Ghost lacks at the moment.